Otago Conservation Board

The Otago Conservation Board is the community’s voice in conservation management in Otago. The Board gives advice to the Department of Conservation on local conservation matters and carries out some important planning roles.

The nine Board members live in various parts of Otago and usually focus on conservation issues within the Otago Conservancy’s boundaries. One of their major roles is to oversee the implementation of the Otago Conservation Management strategy.

The boundaries of the Board’s area of jurisdiction correspond roughly with those of the Otago region, but both Mount Aspiring National Park and the Catlins Conservation Park (formerly Catlins Forest Park) are wholly within the Board’s district, even though parts of these parks are managed by the West Coast and Southland regions of the Department, respectively. This ensures a single approach with regard to policy and planning for these parks.


Find out more


Ainslee Hooper
Conservation Board Support Officer

Ōtepoti / Dunedin Office
Phone:      +64 3 477 0677
Email:   dunedinvc@doc.govt.nz
Full office details